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Superior Court of Washington, County of   
In re parentage: 
Petitioner (person who started this case): 

  
And Respondents:  
(parent / presumed parent / legal guardian/s) 

  
  

 

 

No.    

Summons:  Notice about Petition for  
De Facto Parentage 
(SM) 
 

Summons:  Notice about Petition for De Facto Parentage 
To Respondent/s:  Petitioner started a case to ask the court to order that Petitioner is the de 
facto parent of the child/ren listed in the petition.  A de facto parent is a legal parent with all of 
the same rights and responsibilities as any other parent.  More information about de facto 
parent law is provided at the bottom of this form.   

Follow these steps: 

1. Read the Petition and any other documents you receive with this Summons. These 
documents explain what the Petitioner is asking for. 

2. Fill out the Response to Petition for De Facto Parentage (FL Parentage 342). 

You can get the Response and other forms at: 
 Washington State Court Forms:  www.courts.wa.gov/forms, 

Deadline!  Your Response must be served on the Petitioner within 20 days of the date you 
were served this Summons (or 60 days if you were served outside of Washington State).  If the 
case has been filed, you must also file your Response by the same deadline.  If you do not serve 
and file your Response or a Notice of Appearance by the deadline: 

 No one has to notify you about other hearings in this case, and 
 The court may approve the Petitioner’s requests without hearing your side (called a 

default judgment). 



 

RCW 26.26A.440; CR 4.1 
Mandatory Form (03/2021) 
FL Parentage 340 

Summons: Notice about  
Petition for De Facto Parentage 

p. 2 of 3 

 

 

 Washington LawHelp:  www.washingtonlawhelp.org, 
 Washington State Law Library:  www.courts.wa.gov/library, or 
 Superior Court Clerk’s office or county law library (for a fee). 

3. Serve (give) a copy of your Response to the Petitioner at the address below and to any 
other Respondents.  You may use certified mail with return receipt requested.  For more 
information on how to serve, read Superior Court Civil Rule 5. 

4. File your original Response with the court clerk at this address:  

Superior Court Clerk,   County 
  
address city state zip 

If there is no “Case No.” listed on page 1, this case may not have been filed and you will not be able to file a 
Response.  Contact the Superior Court Clerk to find out.   
If the case was not filed, you must still serve your Response, and you may demand that the Petitioner file this 
case with the court.  Your demand must be in writing and must be served on the Petitioner or his/her lawyer 
(whoever signed this Summons).  If the Petitioner does not file papers for this case within 14 days of being 
served with your demand, this service on you of the Summons and Petition will not be valid.  If the Petitioner 
does file, then you must file your original Response with the court clerk at the address above. 

5.  Lawyer not required:  It’s a good idea to talk to a lawyer, but you may file and serve 
your Response without one. 

6. Information about De Facto Parentage 
Under Washington law, to be a de facto parent, the Petitioner must show that:  
 Petitioner lived with the child in the child’s household for a significant period. 
 Petitioner provided consistent caretaking of the child and undertook full and 

permanent responsibilities of a parent without expectation of financial compensation. 
 Petitioner held the child out as his/her child. 
 Petitioner established a bonded and dependent relationship with the child which is 

parental in nature. 
 Another parent of the child fostered or supported the Petitioner’s bonded, dependent 

relationship. 
 Continuing the Petitioner’s relationship with the child is in the child’s best interest.  

Read RCW 26.26A.440 for more information about the de facto parent law. 
There is a two-step process in de facto parentage cases.   

Step 1: The court will consider the facts claimed in the Petition, and any Response, to 
decide if the case should go forward.  Either you or the Petitioner may ask for 
this review using the Request for Court Review, FL Parentage 343.  The court 
may decide without a hearing or may set a hearing, if necessary.  

 

http://www.washingtonlawhelp.org/
http://www.courts.wa.gov/library
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The case will end at Step 1 unless the court finds that the Petitioner meets the 
standard for the case to go forward.  

Step 2: The court will hold a trial to decide whether or not the Petitioner is a de facto 
parent.  

Petitioner or his/her lawyer fills out below: 

    
Signature of Petitioner or Lawyer Date 

  
Print name (and WSBA No., if Lawyer) 

I agree to accept legal papers for this case at (check one):   
[  ]  my lawyer’s address:  

  
Lawyer’s address city state zip  

Email (if applicable):   

[  ]  the following address (this does not have to be your home address):  

  
address city state zip 

Note:  You and the other party/ies may agree to accept legal papers by email under Civil Rule 5 and local court 
rules. 
If this address changes before the case ends, you must notify all parties and the court clerk in writing.  You may 
use the Notice of Address Change form (FL All Family 120).  You must also update your Confidential Information 
Form (FL All Family 001) if this case involves parentage or child support. 

This Summons is issued according to Rule 4.1 of the Superior Court Civil Rules of the State of Washington. 


	Summons:  Notice about Petition for De Facto Parentage
	1. Read the Petition and any other documents you receive with this Summons. These documents explain what the Petitioner is asking for.
	2. Fill out the Response to Petition for De Facto Parentage (FL Parentage 342).
	3. Serve (give) a copy of your Response to the Petitioner at the address below and to any other Respondents.  You may use certified mail with return receipt requested.  For more information on how to serve, read Superior Court Civil Rule 5.
	4. File your original Response with the court clerk at this address:
	5.  Lawyer not required:  It’s a good idea to talk to a lawyer, but you may file and serve your Response without one.
	6. Information about De Facto Parentage
	Petitioner or his/her lawyer fills out below:

	Deadline!  Your Response must be served on the Petitioner within 20 days of the date you were served this Summons (or 60 days if you were served outside of Washington State).  If the case has been filed, you must also file your Response by the same deadline.  If you do not serve and file your Response or a Notice of Appearance by the deadline:
	Print name (and WSBA No., if Lawyer)

